Click here to skip to this page's main content.

New Feature: You can now embed Open Library books on your website!   Learn More
Last edited by Clean Up Bot
March 31, 2017 | History

Charles Williams

1886 - 1945

Charles Walter Stansby Williams (1886-1945) was a British poet, novelist, literary critic, editor, lecturer, biographer, Anglican Christian, and occult master. He was also a member if the Inklings along with C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien
He is best known for his seven 'metaphysical thrillers', among which are War in Heaven (1930), The Place of the Lion (1931) and All Hallows Eve (1937). He wrote history, literary criticism and theology, which included The Descent of the Dove (1929) and Outlines of Romantic Theology (1990). However, Williams regarded his Arthurian poetry as his finest achievement. Esoteric and dense, they include Taliessen Through Logres (1938), The Region of the Summer Stars (1944) and The Silver Stair (1912).
Williams' literary style is notable, being labyrinthine and full of obscure allusions. He was influenced by a variety of sources, including the Bible, Arthurian legend and the occult.

86 works Add another?

Sorting by Most Editions | First Published | Most Recent

Photo of Charles Williams

Links (outside Open Library)

Alternative names

History Created April 1, 2008 · 6 revisions Download catalog record: RDF / JSON

March 31, 2017 Edited by Clean Up Bot add VIAF and wikidata ID
September 17, 2016 Edited by Rena Added biography and links
September 17, 2016 Edited by Rena Added new photo
August 18, 2015 Edited by LeadSongDog Edited without comment.
April 1, 2008 Created by an anonymous user initial import