Cover of: Daemon |
Preview

Buy this book

Last edited by Lisa
June 24, 2019 | History
An edition of Daemon

Daemon

First Signet Printing

  • 4.75
  • 4 Ratings
  • 41 Want to read
  • 0 Currently reading
  • 8 Have read

This edition published in by Signet in New York, NY USA.

Written in English

632 pages

Already an underground sensation, a high-tech thriller for the wireless age that explores the unthinkable consequences of a computer program running without human control—a daemon—designed to dismantle society and bring about a new world order.

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer—the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy—or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control...

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

Read more

Previews available in: English

Edition Availability
Cover of: Daemon
Daemon
Jan2010, Signet
PremiumMassMarketPaperback in English - First Signet Printing
Cover of: Daemon
Daemon
2010, Quercus
Paperback in English
Cover of: Daemon
Daemon
Jan2009, Penguin Group USA, Inc.
eBook in English - First edition eBook
Cover of: Daemon
Daemon: a novel
2009, Dutton
in English
Cover of: Daemon
Daemon
8Jan2009, Dutton Adult
Hardcover in English - First edition
Cover of: Daemon
Daemon
8Jan2009, Penguin Audio
Audiobook on CD in English

Add another edition?

Daemon



Work Description

Already an underground sensation, a high-tech thriller for the wireless age that explores the unthinkable consequences of a computer program running without human control—a daemon—designed to dismantle society and bring about a new world order.

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer—the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy—or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control...

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

Links outside Open Library

Classifications

Library of Congress PS3619.U327 D34 2009
Dewey 813/.6

Edition Notes

Series
Deamon, Book 1
Copyright Date
2009

The Physical Object

Format
PremiumMassMarketPaperback
Number of pages
632
Dimensions
7.5 x 4.3 x 1.3 inches
Weight
13.1 ounces

ID Numbers

Open Library
OL25424889M
Internet Archive
daemon00dani
ISBN 10
0451228731
ISBN 13
9780451228734

Lists containing this Book

History

Download catalog record: RDF / JSON / OPDS | Wikipedia citation
June 24, 2019 Edited by Lisa Added new cover
June 24, 2019 Edited by Lisa Update covers
April 6, 2014 Edited by ImportBot Added IA ID.
April 1, 2013 Edited by Lou Beauregard added info, have book 'in-hand'...
April 1, 2013 Created by Lou Beauregard Added new book.