Click here to skip to this page's main content.

Internet Archive logo

Site Search

Site Search
Last edited by Clean Up Bot
March 31, 2017 | History

Margaret Mahy

21 March 1936 -

Margaret Mahy ONZ (born in Whakatane, New Zealand) is a well-known New Zealand author of children's and young adult books. While the plots of many of her books have strong supernatural elements, her writing concentrates on the themes of human relationships and growing up.

Her books "The Haunting" and "The Changeover" both received the Carnegie Medal of the British Library Association. She has written a little less than 50 novels, including the recent "Alchemy" in 2002. Among her children's books, "A Lion in the Meadow", "The Seven Chinese Brothers", and "The Man Whose Mother was a Pirate" are considered national classics.

421 works Add another?

Sorting by Most Editions | First Published | Most Recent

Photo of Margaret Mahy

Links (outside Open Library)

Alternative names

History Created April 1, 2008 · 9 revisions
Download catalog record: RDF / JSON

March 31, 2017 Edited by Clean Up Bot add VIAF and wikidata ID
November 14, 2013 Edited by Alexandra wells merge authors
December 5, 2010 Edited by Alan Millar merge authors
September 1, 2010 Edited by Frédéric Bonnet minor edit
April 1, 2008 Created by an anonymous user initial import