The storm
Arif Anwar

Buy this book

When you buy books using these links the Internet Archive may earn a small commission.

Last edited by ImportBot
October 9, 2021 | History
An edition of The storm (2018)

The storm

a novel

First Atria Books hardcover edition.
  • 0 Ratings
  • 0 Want to read
  • 0 Currently reading
  • 0 Have read

This edition was published in

Written in English

306 pages

"Seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history. Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar's history, in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.--

Read more

Edition Availability
Cover of: The Storm
The Storm: A Novel
Jul 27, 2021, Washington Square Press
paperback
Cover of: Storm
Storm: A Novel
2019, HarperCollins Publishers
in English
Cover of: Storm
Storm
2018, Cengage Gale
in English
Cover of: The storm
The storm: a novel
2018
in English - First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Cover of: The Storm
The Storm: A Novel
May 15, 2018, Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Audio
audio cd
Cover of: Storm
Storm: A Novel
2018, Atria Books
in English

Add another edition?

The storm

First published in 2018



Work Description

"Seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history. Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar's history, in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.--

Links outside Open Library

The storm

a novel

First Atria Books hardcover edition.

This edition was published in


Edition Description

"Seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history. Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar's history, in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.--

Edition Notes

Copyright Date
2018

Classifications

Dewey Decimal Class
813/.6
Library of Congress
PR9199.4.A588 S86 2018, PR9199.4.A588S86

ID Numbers

Open Library
OL26956861M
ISBN 10
1501174509
ISBN 13
9781501174506
LC Control Number
2018016384
OCLC/WorldCat
1006795888

Community Reviews (0)

Feedback?
No community reviews have been submitted for this work.

Lists containing this Book

History

Download catalog record: RDF / JSON
October 9, 2021 Edited by ImportBot import existing book
September 30, 2021 Edited by ImportBot import existing book
August 7, 2021 Edited by New York Times Bestsellers Bot Add NYT review links
May 24, 2019 Created by MARC Bot import new book