Cover of: The hundred-year lie by Randall Fitzgerald
An edition of The hundred-year lie (2006)

The hundred-year lie

how food and medicine are destroying your health

  • 0 Ratings
  • 1 Want to read
  • 0 Currently reading
  • 0 Have read
    Loading...

Buy this book

When you buy books using these links the Internet Archive may earn a small commission.

Last edited by ImportBot
August 20, 2020 | History
An edition of The hundred-year lie (2006)

The hundred-year lie

how food and medicine are destroying your health

  • 0 Ratings
  • 1 Want to read
  • 0 Currently reading
  • 0 Have read
Publish Date
Publisher
Dutton
Language
English
Pages
293

Buy this book

When you buy books using these links the Internet Archive may earn a small commission.

Previews available in: English

In a devastating expose in the tradition of Silent Spring and Fast Food Nation, investigative journalist Randall Fitzgerald warns how thousands of man-made chemicals in our food, water, medicine, and environment are making humans the most polluted species on the planet. A century ago in 1906, when Congress enacted the Pure Food and Drug Act, Americans were promised "better living through chemistry." Fitzgerald provides overwhelming evidence to shatter this myth, and many others perpetrated by the chemical, pharmaceutical, and processed foods industries. In the face of this national health crisis, Fitzgerald also presents informed and practical suggestions for what we can do to turn the tide and live healthier lives.Consider this:• The average American carries a "body burden" of 700 synthetic chemicals• Chemicals in tap water can cause reproductive abnormalities and hermaphroditic birth• A 2005 study of lactating women in eighteen U.S. states found perchlorate (a toxic component of rocket fuel) in practically every mother's breast milk

Read more

Edition Availability
Cover of: The Hundred-Year Lie
The Hundred-Year Lie
2008, Penguin Group USA, Inc.
Electronic resource in English
Cover of: The Hundred-Year Lie
Cover of: The hundred-year lie
Cover of: The hundred-year lie

Add another edition?

Book Details


Published in

New York

Table of Contents

pt. 1. Down the rabbit hole
Reading the signs
From the womb to the grave
A history of the hundred-year lie
pt. 2. Strangers in a strange land
Wizards of Oz: the food industry
Sorcerer's apprentices: the drug and medical industries
Are we becoming a mutant species?
pt. 3. Beyond apocalypse now
Our health is naturally occurring
When Western medicine fails
Bringing it all home.

Edition Notes

Includes bibliographical references (p. [257]-275) and index.

Classifications

Dewey Decimal Class
615.9
Library of Congress
RA1213 .F58 2006

The Physical Object

Pagination
vii, 293 p. ;
Number of pages
293

ID Numbers

Open Library
OL24767398M
Internet Archive
hundredyearlieho00fitz
ISBN 10
0525949518
ISBN 13
9780525949510
LCCN
2005037244
OCLC/WorldCat
62738611

Community Reviews (0)

Feedback?
No community reviews have been submitted for this work.

History

Download catalog record: RDF / JSON
August 20, 2020 Edited by ImportBot import existing book
July 22, 2019 Edited by MARC Bot remove fake subjects
October 8, 2017 Edited by MARC Bot merge duplicate works of 'The hundred-year lie'
July 22, 2017 Edited by Mek adding subject: In library
July 14, 2011 Created by ImportBot import new book