Click here to skip to this page's main content.

New Feature: You can now embed Open Library books on your website!   Learn More
Last edited by Open Library Bot
December 3, 2010 | History

Five lines, four spaces 1 edition

Five lines, four spaces
George Rochberg

No ebook available.

Prefer the physical book? Check nearby libraries powered by WorldCat

Buy this book

Alas... There's no description for this book yet. Can you help?
There is only 1 edition record, so we'll show it here...  •  Add edition?

Five lines, four spaces
the world of my music
George Rochberg ; introduction by Gene Rochberg.

Published 2009 by University of Illinois Press in Urbana .
Written in English.

Table of Contents

"Save something for the end" : Second symphony and George Szell
A concert of music : Caprice variations for solo violin ; Interlude 1. A distant music : Serenata d'estate
The last Gershwin Prize : Night music and Dimitri Mitropoulos
After and before : Twelve bagatelles and String quartet no. 1
"Let the other George do it" : Symphony no. 1 and Eugene Ormandy ; Interlude 2. Rilke's Angels : String quartet no. 2 with soprano
Breaking with modernism : Third string quartet and the Concord String Quartet
"It's only a small, little, wooden box" : Violin concerto and Isaac Stern ; Interlude 3. Stravinsky's caveat : Circles of fire and the Hirsch-Pinkas piano duo
Unlocking the past : Contra mortem et tempus and Music for the magic theater
A passion according to the twentieth century : Third symphony and the Juilliard Orchestra and Chorus ; Interlude 4. "O for a muse of fire" : Eliot Fisk and works for guitar solo, duo, and ensemble
Pictures of the floating world : Ukiyo-e, Slow fires of autumn, between two worlds, and Imago mundi
A trio of symphonies : four, five, and six ; Interlude 5. Gods of wrath : Phaedra, a monodrama for mezzo- soprano and orchestra
A triptych of sonatas : Sonata for violin and piano (1988), Sonata for viola and piano (1979), Sonata, aria for cello and piano (1992)
Blown on the wind : oboe and clarinet concertos
A trio of trios : Piano trio no. 1 (1962-1963), Piano trio no. 2 (1985), Piano trio no. 3 (summer, 1990) ; Interlude 6. Constructing with canons : Sonata-fantasia for solo piano
Some things saved for the end.

Edition Notes

Includes bibliographical references and index.



Dewey Decimal Class
780.92, B
Library of Congress
ML410.R6255 A3 2009

The Physical Object

p. cm.

ID Numbers

Open Library
LC Control Number
Library Thing

History Created December 10, 2009 · 2 revisions Download catalog record: RDF / JSON

December 3, 2010 Edited by Open Library Bot Added subjects from MARC records.
December 10, 2009 Created by WorkBot add works page