An edition of The Joy Luck Club (1989)

The Joy Luck Club

1st Ballantine Books ed.
  • 4.00 ·
  • 43 Ratings
  • 416 Want to read
  • 27 Currently reading
  • 62 Have read

My Reading Lists:

Create a new list

Check-In

×Close
Add an optional check-in date. Check-in dates are used to track yearly reading goals.
Today

  • 4.00 ·
  • 43 Ratings
  • 416 Want to read
  • 27 Currently reading
  • 62 Have read

Buy this book

Last edited by MARC Bot
July 13, 2024 | History
An edition of The Joy Luck Club (1989)

The Joy Luck Club

1st Ballantine Books ed.
  • 4.00 ·
  • 43 Ratings
  • 416 Want to read
  • 27 Currently reading
  • 62 Have read

In 1949, four Chinese women--drawn together by the shadow of their past--begin meeting in San Francisco to play mah jong, invest in stocks and "say" stories. They call their gathering the Joy Luck Club--and forge a relationship that binds them for more than three decades. A celebrated novel in the tradition of Alice Adams and Margaret Atwood from the bestselling author of The Kitchen God's Wife.

Publish Date
Publisher
Ivy Books
Language
English
Pages
332

Buy this book

Previews available in: English Spanish

Edition Availability
Cover of: The Joy Luck Club
The Joy Luck Club
2014, Penguin Books
Hardcover in English
Cover of: The Joy Luck Club
The Joy Luck Club
2006, Penguin Books
in English
Cover of: Club de la buena estrella (Debolsillo, 338/1)
Club de la buena estrella (Debolsillo, 338/1)
September 3, 2002, Plaza y Janes
Mass Market Paperback in Spanish
Cover of: El Club De LA Buena Estrella
El Club De LA Buena Estrella
January 1, 1995, Tusquets, Brand: Tusquets Editor, Tusquets Editores S.A.
Paperback in Spanish
Cover of: The Joy Luck Club
The Joy Luck Club
1990, Ivy Books
in English - 1st Ballantine Books ed.
Cover of: The joy luck club
The joy luck club
1989, Ivy Books
in English
Cover of: The joy luck club
The joy luck club
1989, Ivy Books
in English
Cover of: The joy luck club
The joy luck club
1989, Ivy Books
in English
Cover of: the joy luck club
the joy luck club
1989, g.p. putman's sons
Cover of: Joy Luck Club-O.M.
Joy Luck Club-O.M.
August 27, 1989, Ivy Books
Mass Market Paperback in English

Add another edition?

Book Details


Edition Notes

Published in
New York
Copyright Date
1989

Classifications

Dewey Decimal Class
813/.54
Library of Congress
PS3570.A48 J6 1990

The Physical Object

Pagination
332 p. ;
Number of pages
332

ID Numbers

Open Library
OL24951650M
Internet Archive
joyluckclubamy00tana
ISBN 10
0804106304
ISBN 13
9780804106306
OCLC/WorldCat
21571021

First Sentence

"My father has asked me to be the fourth corner at the Joy Luck Club."

Work Description

Four mothers, four daughters, four families, whose histories shift with the four winds depending on who's telling the stories. In 1949, four Chinese women, recent immigrants to San Francisco, meet weekly to play mahjong and tell stories of what they left behind in China. United in loss and new hope for their daughters' futures, they call themselves the Joy Luck Club. Their daughters, who have never heard these stories, think their mothers' advice is irrelevant to their modern American lives – until their own inner crises reveal how much they've unknowingly inherited of their mothers' pasts.

With wit and sensitivity, Amy Tan examines the sometimes painful, often tender, and always deep connection between mothers and daughters. As each woman reveals her secrets, trying to unravel the truth about her life, the strings become more tangled, more entwined. Mothers boast or despair over daughters, and daughters roll their eyes even as they feel the inextricable tightening of their matriarchal ties. Tan is an astute storyteller, enticing readers to immerse themselves into these lives of complexity and mystery.

Community Reviews (0)

Feedback?
No community reviews have been submitted for this work.

History

Download catalog record: RDF / JSON
July 13, 2024 Edited by MARC Bot import existing book
December 20, 2023 Edited by ImportBot import existing book
December 19, 2023 Edited by ImportBot import existing book
September 26, 2023 Edited by Ruslana Binko //covers.openlibrary.org/b/id/6391793-S.jpg
December 9, 2009 Created by WorkBot add works page