Click here to skip to this page's main content.

New to the Open Library? — Learn how it works
Last edited by ImportBot
August 12, 2011 | History

Power trip: from oil wells to solar cells-- our ride to the renewable future 4 editions

Cover of: Power trip by Amanda Little, Amanda Little
About the Book

In the tradition of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation and Thomas L. Friedmam's Hot, Flat, and Crowded, prominent journalist Amanda Little maps out the history and future of America's energy addiction in a wonk-free, big-picture, solutions-oriented adventure story.After covering the environment and energy beat for more than a decade, Amanda Little decided that the only way to really understand America's energy crisis was to travel into the heart of it. She embarks on a daring cross-country power trip, and describes in vivid, fast-paced prose the most extreme and exciting frontiers of our energy landscape.At her side we visit an offshore oil rig, the cornfields of Kansas, the Pentagon's fuel-logistics division, the Talladega Superspeedway, New York City's electrical grid, and laboratories creating the innovations of a clean-energy future. As Little explains, energy is everything: It grows our crops, fights our wars, makes our plastics and medicines, warms our homes, moves our products and vehicles, and animates our cities.How did we develop this insatiable appetite for fossil fuels? Little travels through history to track the evolution of America's energy addiction: the 1897 installation of the world's first power plant (a Thomas Edison-J. P. Morgan venture); the 1901 Spindletop gusher that threw open the era of cheap American fuel; FDR's encounter with a Saudi king that set the stage for our dependence on Middle Eastern oil; General Motors' early decision to sell big guzzlers rather than small, efficient cars.Little illustrates how abundant oil and coal uilt the American superpower-even as they posed political and environmental dangers to the nation and the world. More important, we learn how the same American ingenuity that got us into this mess can get us out of it. With next-generation candor and optimism, Little explores the most promising clean-energy solutions on the horizon, arguing that everything we know about our past teaches us that we can solve the problems of our futureHard-hitting yet forward-thinking, Power Trip is a lively and impassioned travel guide for all readers trying to navigate our shifting landscape and a clear-eyed manifesto for the younger generations who are inheriting the earth.

Places

Lists

You could add Power trip to a list if you log in.

4 editions First published in 2009

Edition Read Borrow Buy
Cover of: Power trip
2009, Harper
Power trip
in English
Cover of: Power Trip
2009, HarperCollins
Power Trip
Electronic resource in English
Cover of: Power trip
2009, Harper
Power trip
in English
Cover of: Power Trip
November 23, 2010, Harper Perennial
Power Trip
Paperback

History Created March 16, 2010 · 3 revisions Download catalog record: RDF / JSON

August 12, 2011 Edited by ImportBot import new book
June 17, 2010 Edited by ImportBot add details from OverDrive
March 16, 2010 Created by WorkBot work found