Click here to skip to this page's main content.

New to the Open Library? — Learn how it works
Last edited by Open Library Bot
April 12, 2010 | History

Janus Kodal

Kodal was only 20 when he was accepted by the noted Copenhagen School of Creative Writing, at which time he moved to that city. At the age of 23 he published his first collection of poetry, Antologi (1991), with the noted publishing house Gyldendal. Two years later he received a national grant to write his second book, the long poem, ingentings mestre (masters of nothing), which has been described by some critics as the first major work of young Danish poetry.

During the mid-1990s Kodal widened his knowledge of world literatures through his editing of Copenhagen-based magazines, Banana Split and The Blue Gate, both of which were involved with translations and interpretations. He was responsible for the presentation of an array of voices in Copenhagen, including Gennadi Aygi, John Ashbery, Andrej Bitov, Haraldo de Campos, Michael Palmer, and Rosmarie Waldrop.

It was with Fyrsten Zibebes Bekendelse (The Confession of Prince Zibebe) that Kodal came into his own, poetically speaking, as he expanded his theme of the search for identity combined with his unique brand of irony. In his next book, I provincen (In the Rural Landscape), Kodal returned to his rural Danish upbringing.

Throughout these years, he also has traveled extensively, receiving a grant to study the oral literatures of West Africa. In 2004 his fifth collection of poetry, Seks suiter (Six Suites), was published, a work which reflected his new ethnic studies.

1 work Add another?

Photo of Janus Kodal


Links (outside Open Library)

No links yet. Add one?

History Created April 1, 2008 · 4 revisions Download catalog record: RDF / JSON

April 12, 2010 Edited by Open Library Bot Added photos to author pages.
October 2, 2008 Edited by Edited without comment.
September 12, 2008 Edited by RenameBot fix author name
April 1, 2008 Created by an anonymous user initial import